OS X 10.4 Tiger VPN Connection Problem Fixed

I’ve been playing around with an iMac over the past week and have been very impressed so far.

One problem I ran into though was that the VPN client that comes with OS X 10.4 (Tiger) was not able to connect into my office Windows PPTP server. My Windows machines at home were able to successfully connect though so the problem was not with my network (or so I thought).

After I replaced my router with a different firewall tonight the VPN client started to work! So if you have a Linksys RT31P2 router and are having problems connecting into your work VPN try taking the router out of the picture to see if that solves your problem.

It is always nice for a System Administrator like me to be occasionally reminded not to make assumptions when troubleshooting a problem. I’m just glad that it happened at home instead of at work where a ton of people would have find out about my lapse… er… wait a minute…

2 Responses to “OS X 10.4 Tiger VPN Connection Problem Fixed”

  1. isho Says:

    So, what do you do if you’re using Vonage… since they require you to use the RT31P2. 😦 I guess I need to find a new VOIP provider as well.

  2. Michael Says:

    You can get a different firewall like I did, and plug the RT31P2 into the firewall just like any other client (i.e. don’t plug any computers into the back of the RT31P2)

    If you have a spare computer with two network cards, then look into installing pfSense or m0n0wall onto it and turning it into a firewall.

Leave a Reply

