Home Improvements

Today I replaced the broken garbage disposal at my place. My roommate Bill offered to pay for it so I only had to donate my time. I think it was a fair trade and he seems to agree.

My day job is mostly mental so getting out real tools (cue Tim Allen, “Argh argh argh”) and making a mess of things can be therapeutic. It is also nice to work on a project that I can start and finish in the same day.

One Response to “Home Improvements”

  1. eeka Says:

    You may want to make a note so you remember to list that “fair trade” in your 2006 tax return. It’s true, TurboTax doesn’t lie. Other odd things you’re supposed to list on your taxes are gambling winnings (fyi – gambling losses are deductible) and illegitimate income.

    So all you tax accountants out there, here’s a puzzler for you: Say I’m a crankwhore and I stole 30 blisterpacks of sudafed. The retail value of each pack is $5. I pop out the pills one by one (very quickly – because I just took my last hit of meth) and sell the ziplock baggie of sudafed pills to my favorite meth cook. He in turn gives me several hits of just-cooked up meth in return. Then I smoke the meth and sleep with some random people in exchange for a few days of couchsurfing in their trailer while I’m all cranked up. How would I report this on my taxes? ($150 of profit from the sale of stolen sudafed? $150 value in barter trade for an illegal substance? And do I need to report couchsurfing barter?) Quite the conundrum. Frontline had a really good program about meth 2 weeks ago. Turns out, there’s a really bad meth epidemic in Washington. You can read about it at http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/meth.

Leave a Reply

